Chicken Salad with Almonds, Apples & Cherries

I’m in a group called Cook My Book. There are 15 of us and we each choose a book to send off on a journey across the United States. We have two weeks with each book which allows us alot of time to cook. We make notes right in the book and share our thoughts and pictures on a private Facebook page. We are exposed to so many great books that we may have never thought to add to our own personal library. It is not unusual for us to buy our own copy of the book.

The book that I currently have is Carnivore by Michael Symon. Last Sunday, my entire dinner was from the book. I made his recipe for Grilled Marinated Chicken Breast that had an amazing orange flavor, his recipe for Soft Polenta with Aged Cheddar and his Feta & Cucumber Salad. All three were amazing, my family loved them.

The book has introduced me to the use of Greek yogurt for marinades and for dressings in salads. It is rich, creamy and healthy!

The recipe below is one that I adapted from his Roasted Chicken with Almonds, Apples and Dried Cherries. I used the leftover chicken breast from Sunday instead of the roasted chicken that he suggest. I also added a little celery because it is one of my favorite ingredients in chicken salad and I used fresh cherries because they are currently in season. One last little twist was the addition of habanero pepper, for a subtle kick. I was hesitant about using the yogurt and the mint, however I was pleasantly surprised at how good both were in this salad.

I hope you enjoy the salad and I encourage you to pick up a copy of Michael Symon’s Carnivore.  There are several other recipes that I have marked to make and I have it on my list to purchase.   I am thankful that my friend, Woo, shared it with our Cookbook group.

IMG_4426 (2)

 

Chicken Salad with Almonds, Apples & Cherries
Adapted from Pulled Chicken Salad with Almonds, Apples & Dried Cherries by Michael Symon’s Carnivore Cookbook, Page 162

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked chicken breast, diced
1/2 cup diced celery
1/2 cup diced cherries
1 Granny Smith apple, cored and diced
1/2 cup chopped almonds
1/2 habanero pepper, seeded and finely chopped
1/4 cup chopped fresh mint
1 cup Greek yogurt
kosher salt

Directions:

1. Combine chicken, celery, cherries, apple, almonds, peppers and fresh mint in large bowl.
2. Gently fold in Greek yogurt. Make sure everything is evenly coated.
3. Season with a sprinkle of salt, to your taste.

Tip: The chicken breast that I used had a nice light orange marinade. I recommend using the recipe in Carnivore or finding one online, as the orange gives a nice fresh taste to the chicken in the salad.

DON’T FORGET THAT I HAVE A GIVEAWAY GOING ON MY FACEBOOK PAGE UNTIL JULY 30, 2014 at Seasons to Seasonings.  Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Salad with Almonds, Apples & Cherries

Leave a Reply

